Sourcebooks Casablanca

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks
Published by Gallery Books on January 8, 2019
Genres: Cookbook
Pages: 320
Goodreads
four-stars

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.
It all started at the school fair…
Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.
Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter....
This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

I think that this story is every parents worst nightmare from every angle. A missing child, friendships that broken beyond repair and family secrets that are the worst kind. This is not normally the kind of story I can read all the way through, because it’s just too real and I tend to read for escapism. But this story was one that grabs your attention and just doesn’t let you go until you finish the last page. It grips you so well because you just want to find out what the whole story is. These are the kinds of books that I really like.

The Outlaw’s Mail Order Bride by Linda Broday

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Outlaw's Mail Order Bride (Outlaw Mail Order Brides, #1) by Linda Broday
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 29, 2019
Genres: Cookbook
Pages: 384
Goodreads
five-stars

When the West was wild And man's law favored the few These extraordinary women could be found...in the heart of an outlaw.
Former outlaw Clay Colby is abuzz with his mail order bride's expected arrival. He's fought long and hard to drag Devil's Crossing out of lawlessness...so when his homestead is set ablaze by a bitter rival, he's heartbroken. There's no woman in the world who'd stand by him now.
But Talley Shannon is no ordinary woman.
After escaping the psychiatric hospital in which she was wrongfully detained, Tally only wants someone to protect her and the little girl under her care. She doesn't mind that Clay's home is dang near burned to the ground--not when he makes her feel so safe. So cherished. But it's only a matter of time before the ghosts of her past come calling...and her loving cowboy must defend his new bride--and the family they built together--to his very last breath.

The Outlaw’s Mail Order Bride is the first title in Linda Broday’s new series, Outlaw Mail Order Brides. This book is a great start to what I expect to be a great series.

I loved the setting of this book, where Clay and his former outlaw friends are working on bringing a dying town back to life. I loved the other characters in this book and look forward to seeing them in the upcoming books from this series.

Tally is a character that you can not help but connect with and feel anger at the people who have hurt her. Due to this there is no surprise that she has trust issues, and this plays a part in her and Clays relationship. Clay is the type of person not to give up on helping her, and it’s a fun ride watching these two learn to be together.

I found The Outlaw’s Mail Order Bride to be full of action, danger, and interesting characters. It will pull you in and keep you engaged till its done.

Suddenly Mine by Samantha Chase

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Suddenly Mine (Montgomery Brothers, #8) by Samantha Chase
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 29, 2019
Genres: Cookbook
Pages: 384
Goodreads
five-stars

New beginnings are irresistible…
Christian Montgomery is burnt out. The family business is his entire world, and Christian has never stopped trying to atone for a mistake made years ago. His only break from grueling work is sitting on his beachfront deck, watching the California surfers, and wishing he could be that carefree.
Sophie Bennington was happy living in her small Kansas hometown…until she learned her entire life was a lie. So she hightailed it to the West coast, where she loves to surf, even though she’s no good at it, and she’s hoping to start a new career.
A chance encounter shows Christian and Sophie that no matter what happened in the past, the future is bright and new…but only if you have the courage to open your heart…

A Samantha Chase book is always a sure bet for me, I just love the way her characters come off the page and grab my attention. This book was no different. With Christian Montgomery and Sophie Bennington you feel the emotions from each as they are really both just trying to find themselves and while both have family behind them to support them they really feel alone. This story of them finding each other and then learning to really start over and to love.

The Montgomery series is one I really enjoy reading, I love the family dynamics and how you keep seeing characters from past books, and ones that most likely will have their own stories at some point. These kind of series are my favorites and the ones I just cannot wait for the next one to come out and read.

Earl to the Rescue by Jane Ashford

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Earl to the Rescue by Jane Ashford
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on December 4, 2018
Genres: Fiction, Historical, Romance
Pages: 384
Format: ebook
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads

three-stars




Who needs a knight in shining armor when there’s an earl at your side…?
Gwendeline Gregory doesn’t know what to think when she encounters the dashing Alex St. Audley, Earl of Merryn. She’s in over her head in London Society, trying to fend off a scoundrel who will stop at nothing to ruin her. On the brink of a devastating scandal, the earl arrives just when she needs him most. But are his motivations trustworthy? And can he avert ruin for both of them?

This story starts out with Gwendeline about ready to lose her home and everything she knows after the untimely death of her parents. Who really wasn’t that parental and spent more time traveling and tending to their own interests instead of their daughter. Unsure of what to do with herself due to her upbringing and her station among the English society and having no relatives to rely on. Gwendeline is in a real pickle, until Alex St Audley, the fifth Earl of Merryn arrives on her doorstep. Now Alex thought that she was a much younger girl and figured he would be her benefactor setting her up in a school. Much to both their surprises things turned out differently and while slow going seeing Gwendeline learn to navigate London and the Ton and Alex trying to help her. I enjoyed this story, the interactions between Alex and Gwendeline are good and the story does eventually pull you in after the slow start.

three-stars

You Had Me at Cowboy by Jennie Marts

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

You Had Me at Cowboy by Jennie Marts
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on November 27, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 352
Format: ebook
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads

four-stars




“Funny, complicated, and irresistible. Sometimes a cowboy isn’t perfect but you got to love him anyway.”–JODI THOMAS, New York Times bestselling author for Caught Up in a Cowboy
This cowboy is falling hard
Mason James is the responsible one who stayed behind to run the ranch while his brother, Rock, took off to play professional hockey. Women have used him before to get to his brother–and Mason intends never to get burned again. But after he meets quirky Tessa Kane at his brother’s wedding, Mason discovers he’s ready to take a chance on love.
Tessa Kane is a reporter on the verge of losing a job she desperately needs–unless she’s clever enough to snag a story on the famous Rockford James. But when she falls for her subject’s brother, she’s caught between a rock and a hard-muscled cowboy. What will happen when Mason finds out who she really is?
Cowboys of Creedence Series: Caught Up in a Cowboy (Book 1) You Had Me at Cowboy (Book 2) It Started With a Cowboy (Book 3)
What People Are Saying About
Caught Up in a Cowboy
: “Chemistry so electric it flies off the page.”–RT Book Reviews for Caught Up in a Cowboy, 4 stars “Full of exquisite heat and passion…wonderful.”–Harlequin Junkie “An appealing story of love rediscovered…enjoy this tender tale.”–Publishers Weekly

I enjoyed this book a lot. The story kept me entertained and I didn’t want to put it down until I finished it. Jennie Marts is a great author and I look forward to reading more of her books. The relationship between the Mason and Tees is fun to read, and its nice to see the good guy getting the girl. For a romance book this one checks off all the right boxes and has everything that you would want.

four-stars

Never Let Me Fall by Abbie Roads

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Never Let Me Fall (Fatal Dreams, #3) by Abbie Roads
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on November 6, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 320
Format: ebook
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads

five-stars




Seeing is believing…
Thomas Brown can’t see color, but he can see people’s true souls. His abilities allow him to work with criminal investigators and deliver justice to families of the wronged. And he’s starting to accept that his life will forever be in black and white…
Then he encounters Helena Grayse, and everything changes. She brings vibrant color to his world, and he brings acceptance and belief to hers. But Helena’s past is quickly catching up with her, and Thomas is in the crosshairs.
As an enemy hidden in plain sight threatens their every move, they’ll have to rely on their love to beat the darkness.

This was a great read, a Paranormal suspense story that is completely unique. The characters are great, the storyline draws you in and doesn’t let you go until you’ve finished the book. This is the first book by Abbie Roads I have read, but it sure wont be the last. I really enjoyed Thomas and Helena the chemistry between them was explosive.

 

five-stars

>