Heidi Perks

Beyond Risk by Connie Mann

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Beyond Risk (Florida Wildlife Warriors #1) by Connie Mann
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 29, 2019
Genres: Cookbook
Pages: 416
Goodreads
five-stars

The river runs wild …
Former Fish & Wildlife Officer Charlotte “Charlee” Tanner still carries the guilt of a tragic drowning accident that occurred on her watch. She hoped moving back home to the wilds of central Florida would provide a safe haven—until she learns the death was no accident, and she’s the intended target.
… But no wilder than their passion.
Tough and decisive, Lieutenant Hunter Boudreau loves his new job as a law enforcement officer with the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission. Charlee is his best friend, so when she comes under fire, he’s not letting her out of his sight until the killer is caught. But Charlee won’t sit by and let anyone else die for her.
As danger closes in and Charlee and Hunter’s attraction threatens to consume them, Charlee has to decide if she can trust Hunter. And to save Charlee, Hunter will have to trust her, too.

The Outlaw’s Mail Order Bride is the first title in Linda Broday’s new series, Outlaw Mail Order Brides. This book is a great start to what I expect to be a great series.

I loved the setting of this book, where Clay and his former outlaw friends are working on bringing a dying town back to life. I loved the other characters in this book and look forward to seeing them in the upcoming books from this series.

Tally is a character that you can not help but connect with and feel anger at the people who have hurt her. Due to this there is no surprise that she has trust issues, and this plays a part in her and Clays relationship. Clay is the type of person not to give up on helping her, and it’s a fun ride watching these two learn to be together.

I found The Outlaw’s Mail Order Bride to be full of action, danger, and interesting characters. It will pull you in and keep you engaged till its done.

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks
Published by Gallery Books on January 8, 2019
Genres: Cookbook
Pages: 320
Goodreads
four-stars

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.
It all started at the school fair…
Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.
Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter....
This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

I think that this story is every parents worst nightmare from every angle. A missing child, friendships that broken beyond repair and family secrets that are the worst kind. This is not normally the kind of story I can read all the way through, because it’s just too real and I tend to read for escapism. But this story was one that grabs your attention and just doesn’t let you go until you finish the last page. It grips you so well because you just want to find out what the whole story is. These are the kinds of books that I really like.

>