Book Review

You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

You'd Be Mine by Erin Hahn
Published by Wednesday Books on April 2, 2019
Genres: Cookbook
Pages: 304
Goodreads
four-stars

Annie Mathers is America’s sweetheart and heir to a country music legacy full of all the things her Gran warned her about. Superstar Clay Coolidge is most definitely going to end up one of those things.
But unfortunately for Clay, if he can’t convince Annie to join his summer tour, his music label is going to drop him. That’s what happens when your bad boy image turns into bad boy reality. Annie has been avoiding the spotlight after her parents’ tragic death, except on her skyrocketing YouTube channel. Clay’s label wants to land Annie, and Clay has to make it happen.
Swayed by Clay’s undeniable charm and good looks, Annie and her band agree to join the tour. From the start fans want them to be more than just tour mates, and Annie and Clay can’t help but wonder if the fans are right. But if there’s one part of fame Annie wants nothing to do with, it’s a high-profile relationship. She had a front row seat to her parents’ volatile marriage and isn’t interested in repeating history. If only she could convince her heart that Clay, with his painful past and head over heels inducing tenor, isn’t worth the risk.

You’d Be Mine is a quick and fun read. One that once you start reading you will keep reading till you are done. Where the bad boy Clay is finally having that reputation is starting to hurt him. So he needs to change his image and reform his bad boy ways. That’s where Annie comes in, Clay needs to convince her and her band to come on tour with him to reform his image. Both Clay and Annie have had bad things happened to them and they are weary of trusting others. This makes their journey to finding love with one another an interesting story.

My Kind of Forever by Tracy Brogan

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

My Kind of Forever by Tracy Brogan
Published by Montlake Romance on January 22, 2019
Genres: Cookbook
Pages: 272
Goodreads
four-stars

As the youngest mayor Trillium Bay has ever elected, Brooke Callaghan wants to prove she’s up to the challenge. She’s stepping out of her practical teacher flats and into her sister’s treacherously high heels…with disastrous results. But if she’s going to (literally) stumble her first day on the job, why not fall into the arms of a handsome stranger?
Leo Walker is a rarity on Wenniway Island. Not only handsome, he’s also single, funny, and—most importantly—interested in Brooke. Unfortunately, his reasons for being on the island are temporary, so in spite of the undeniable chemistry between them, he’s not a forever kind of guy.
When a private investigator arrives with news of a jewel thief hiding on the island, Brooke finds herself dealing with one kerfuffle after another, and Leo proves to be a delicious distraction. What does she really know about him, though? And the biggest question of all? Does this short-term romance hold the possibility of long-term love?

This was the first book by Tracy Brogan book I have read, and I have to say I enjoyed it. The story line showed how everyone deals with grief differently, which some people might not like but I found it to be done in a good way. I enjoyed the characters, and the secondary characters were a great addition to the story making it a fun quick read.

The Magnolia Inn by Carolyn Brown

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Magnolia Inn by Carolyn Brown
Published by Montlake Romance on January 15, 2019
Genres: Romance
Pages: 286
Goodreads
four-stars

A #1 Washington Post and Amazon Charts bestseller.
New York Times bestselling author Carolyn Brown brings together two wounded hearts in a Texas romance of second chances and twice-in-a-lifetime true love.
Inheriting the Magnolia Inn, a Victorian home nestled in the East Texas pines, is a fantasy come true for Jolene Broussard. After living with the guilt of failing to rescue her self-destructive mother, Jolene knows her aunt and uncle’s B&B is the perfect jump start for a new life and a comforting place to call home. There’s just one hitch: stubborn and moody carpenter Tucker Malone. He’s got a half interest in the Magnolia Inn, and he’s planting his dusty cowboy boots squarely in the middle of her dream.
Ever since his wife’s death, Tucker’s own guilt and demons have left him as guarded as Jolene. The last thing he expects is for his new partner to stir something inside him he thought was gone forever. And as wary as Jolene is, she may have found a kindred spirit—someone she can help, and someone she can hold on to.
Restoring the Magnolia Inn is the first step toward restoring their hearts. Will they be able to let go of the past and trust each other to do it together?

This was a great book to read, Jolene and Tucker are hurt people who have a lot to overcome in themselves before they can really be open to someone else. Restoring an old Victorian house is the perfect opportunity for them to work together and work on themselves as they come together to find that there really is good in the world if they are willing to take the chance.

A Merciful Fate by Kendra Elliot

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Merciful Fate (Mercy Kilpatrick, #5) by Kendra Elliot
Published by Montlake Romance on January 15, 2019
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 362
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
four-stars

In this Wall Street Journal and Amazon Charts bestseller, there are no such things as little secrets…
Raised by preppers, survivalist and FBI agent Mercy Kilpatrick has a deep-rooted need for a safe place. Her getaway in the Cascade Foothills is her secret. But when skeletal remains are unearthed—those of a murdered man linked to a notorious heist—Mercy realizes she isn’t the only one with something to hide.
Thirty years ago, an armored-car robbery turned deadly. The mastermind was captured. Four conspirators vanished with a fortune. One of them, it appears, never made it out of the woods alive. For Mercy and her fiancé, Police Chief Truman Daly, their investigation opens old wounds in Eagle’s Nest that cut deeper than they imagined. Especially when a reckless tabloid reporter draws fresh blood. It’s clear to Mercy that somebody in this close-knit community is not who they seem to be.
Some are still shattered by the heist. Some still have reason to be afraid. But which one will kill again and again to hide three decades of secrets? To land this case, it’s up to Mercy to unmask a familiar stranger before someone else dies.

While this is the 5th book in the series it is one that stands on its own, and you don’t have to have read the previous books to fully enjoy this story. The book is a great ready, the main characters Mercy Kilpatrick and her fiancé Truman Daly are fun and so likable. A book filled with mystery and hidden secrets that are coming to the surface. So you are entertained and will want to keep reading this book until you finish the last page.

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks
Published by Gallery Books on January 8, 2019
Genres: Cookbook
Pages: 320
Goodreads
four-stars

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.
It all started at the school fair…
Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.
Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter....
This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

I think that this story is every parents worst nightmare from every angle. A missing child, friendships that broken beyond repair and family secrets that are the worst kind. This is not normally the kind of story I can read all the way through, because it’s just too real and I tend to read for escapism. But this story was one that grabs your attention and just doesn’t let you go until you finish the last page. It grips you so well because you just want to find out what the whole story is. These are the kinds of books that I really like.

The Outlaw’s Mail Order Bride by Linda Broday

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Outlaw's Mail Order Bride (Outlaw Mail Order Brides, #1) by Linda Broday
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 29, 2019
Genres: Cookbook
Pages: 384
Goodreads
five-stars

When the West was wild And man's law favored the few These extraordinary women could be found...in the heart of an outlaw.
Former outlaw Clay Colby is abuzz with his mail order bride's expected arrival. He's fought long and hard to drag Devil's Crossing out of lawlessness...so when his homestead is set ablaze by a bitter rival, he's heartbroken. There's no woman in the world who'd stand by him now.
But Talley Shannon is no ordinary woman.
After escaping the psychiatric hospital in which she was wrongfully detained, Tally only wants someone to protect her and the little girl under her care. She doesn't mind that Clay's home is dang near burned to the ground--not when he makes her feel so safe. So cherished. But it's only a matter of time before the ghosts of her past come calling...and her loving cowboy must defend his new bride--and the family they built together--to his very last breath.

The Outlaw’s Mail Order Bride is the first title in Linda Broday’s new series, Outlaw Mail Order Brides. This book is a great start to what I expect to be a great series.

I loved the setting of this book, where Clay and his former outlaw friends are working on bringing a dying town back to life. I loved the other characters in this book and look forward to seeing them in the upcoming books from this series.

Tally is a character that you can not help but connect with and feel anger at the people who have hurt her. Due to this there is no surprise that she has trust issues, and this plays a part in her and Clays relationship. Clay is the type of person not to give up on helping her, and it’s a fun ride watching these two learn to be together.

I found The Outlaw’s Mail Order Bride to be full of action, danger, and interesting characters. It will pull you in and keep you engaged till its done.

>